Student Library Advisory Council

As a campus hub for student learning, Kennedy Library plays a key role in student success, and nurtures an inclusive and vibrant sense of community at Cal Poly. Student input and support are critical to the Library’s ability to meet student needs. The Student Library Advisory Council (SLAC) is a student run committee that advises the library on matters regarding the Robert E. Kennedy Library.


The Cal Poly Student Library Advisory Council represents diverse campus perspectives. Ideally the council strives to have one member for every academic college, a graduate student member, a library assistant, a representative for Associated Students Incorporated (ASI), a representative the Student Campus Computing Committee (SC3), and if possible additional campus groups (Inter Housing Council (IHC), Inter Fraternity Council (IFC), Panhellenic Association (PHA), etc.).


The Student Library Advisory Council meets regularly to discuss and advise on issues that affect the quality of the student experience with Cal Poly Library Services. The University Librarian and Library Faculty Advisor consult with the group chair or co-chairs to develop agendas and to share information with Council members and seek student input on a variety of issues. Some of these include:

  • Developing and deploying a yearly survey to elicit feedback from student’s regarding Library Services;
  • Raising student awareness of how Library programs and services can help them; and
  • Strategies for securing new funding to support innovative Library services and programs.

Think Tank

The Council serves as an ongoing “think tank,” providing the Library with feedback and input on specific issues, including Library programs, computing interfaces, facilities, communication channels, and Library policies.

Want to join us?

Apply here! Applications for 2014/2015 now being accepted!

For more information about the Council please contact the SLAC Faculty Advisor, Jesse Vestermark, at 756-2640 or by email.

SLAC members

SLAC members 2013-2014