Social Sciences
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
What is a scholarly publication?- Academic Search Elite
- Indexes core scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, anthropology, geography, and related fields. Some full text articles available.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- Indexes core scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, anthropology, geography, and related fields. Some full text articles available.
- Sociological Abstracts
- Indexes and provides abstracts for articles, books, book chapters, etc. in the fields of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies.
Finding More Article Resources
- JSTOR
- Full-text articles from more than 70 core journals in sociology, anthropology, archaeology, geography and related fields. Because this is an "archival" database, coverage begins with volume 1 of each journal, but the most recent issues (latest 3–5 years) are not available within JSTOR.
- Project Muse
- Full text articles from selected journals in the humanities and social sciences, published from 1997 to the present.
- SpringerLink
- Provides full-text articles from many scientific journals including a number of publications in sociology, anthropology, archaeology, geography, environmental studies and related fields.
Finding Books
- PolyCat
- Use PolyCat, the online catalog, to find books (and other materials) in the Kennedy Library.
- Link+
- Use Link+ to find and order books available at other California libraries. The books arrive at the Kennedy Library Circulation Desk within 3 days for you to check out.
If you don’t find the book you need in PolyCAT or LINK+, submit an interlibrary loan request.
For more information about locating books, read the "Finding Books" page.
