- PolyCat Subject Heading Search Suggestions
- Critical pedagogy
- Educational anthropology
- Educational sociology
- Discrimination in education
- Intercultural communication
- Multicultural education
- PolyCat Author Search Suggestions
- Michael Apple
- James A. Banks
- Linda Darling-Hammond
- Michel Foucault
- Paulo Freire
- Henry A. Giroux
- Bell Hooks
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
- Dictionary of multicultural education
- Focuses on the explication of meanings and perspectives of various terms used in multicultural education. This reference source can be a reliable companion for multicultural educators and can make dialogue across differences possible and likely.
- Foundational perspectives in multicultural education
- Encouraging readers to think about contemporary ideas regarding multiculturalism and multicultural education, this edited volume contains a wide range of selections that will inspire critical discussions.. "Questions following each section help engage readers, and a glossary defines important postmodern and multicultural terminology.
- Handbook of research on multicultural education
- Traces the historical themes that shape our contemporary views, crossing disciplinary boundaries, joining theory and practice, and provoking a new public discourse about navigating the twin goals of excellence and equity in education.
- Introduction to multicultural education
- This text introduces the basic concepts, principles, theories, and practices of multicultural education.
- Academic Search Elite
- Indexes over 2,900 publications, including scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies,as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Full-text articles are provided for over 1,300 periodical titles.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- Indexes over 1400 core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences as well as some popular publications, including the New York Times. About one-third of the indexed articles are available full-text online. Coverage from 1980 to the present.
- Sex differences and mathematics
- Rural education
- Minority students and academic achievement
- Bilingual education
In order to locate a particular journal in the library, one has to use JOURNAL TITLE SEARCH
- International Journal of Intercultural Relations
- IJIR is dedicated to advancing knowledge and understanding of theory, practice, and research in intergroup relations. The contents encompass theoretical developments, field-based evaluations of training techniques, empirical discussions of cultural similarities and differences, and critical descriptions of new training approaches.
- Journal of American Indian Education
- The Journal of American Indian Education is a peer reviewed scholarly journal, which publishes papers specifically related to the education of American Indians and Alaska Natives.
- Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology
- Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology publishes papers that focus on the interrelationships between culture and psychological processes. Submitted manuscripts may report results from either cross-cultural comparative research or results from other types of research concerning the ways in which culture (and related concepts such as ethnicity) affect the thinking and behavior of individuals as well as how individual thought and behavior define and reflect aspects of culture.
- Journal of Negro Education
- The Journal of Negro Education, a refereed scholarly periodical, was founded at Howard University in 1932 to fill the need for a scholarly journal that would identify and define the problems that characterized the education of Black people in the United States and elsewhere, provide a forum for analysis and solutions, and serve as a vehicle for sharing statistics and research on a national basis. JNE sustains a commitment to a threefold mission: first, to stimulate the collection and facilitate the dissemination of facts about the education of Black people; second, to present discussions involving critical appraisals of the proposals and practices relating to the education of Black people; and third, to stimulate and sponsor investigations of issues incident to the education of Black people.
- Language Learning
- Language Learning - A Journal of Research in Language Studies is a scientific journal dedicated to the understanding of language learning broadly defined. It publishes research articles that systematically apply methods of inquiry from disciplines including psychology, linguistics, cognitive science, educational inquiry, neuroscience, ethnography, sociolinguistics, sociology and semiotics. It is concerned with fundamental theoretical issues in language learning such as child, second and foreign language acquisition, language education, bilingualism, literacy, language representation in mind and brain, culture, cognition, pragmatics and intergroup relations.
- TESOL Quarterly
- TESOL Quarterly, a professional, refereed journal, publishes articles on topics of significance to individuals concerned with the teaching of ESL/EFL and standard English as a second dialect. As a publication that represents a variety of cross-disciplinary interests, both theoretical and practical, TESOL Quarterly invites manuscripts on topics in a wide range of areas, including curriculum design and development; instructional methods, materials, and techniques; issues in research and research methodology; testing and evaluation; professional preparation; language planning; and professional standards.
- New American Studies Web
- This website provides a guide to many online resources devoted to critical pedagogy.
- Multicultural Pavilion
- Provides resources for educators interested in multicultural issues.
- Center for Research on Education, Diversity & Excellence (CREDE)
- CREDE is a federally funded research and development program focused on improving the education of students whose ability to reach their potential is challenged by language or cultural barriers, race, geographic location, or poverty. Use the Research Findings link.