History Research Guide
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
What is scholarly publication?- America: History and Life
- A comprehensive index to material on U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to present. Provides information on journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, and dissertations published from 1964 to present.
- Historical Abstracts
- A comprehensive index to material on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Provides information on journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations published from 1954 to the present.
- JSTOR
- Provides the full text of articles from core journals in history and related fields in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage begins with the very first issue of each journal and continues up to the last 3-5 years.
- Project Muse
- Provides full text articles from recent issues of over 45 history journals as well as publications in related fields. Coverage varies by title, with some publications available from 1995.
Finding Books
- PolyCat
- Use PolyCat, the online catalog, to find books (and other materials) in the Kennedy Library.
- Link+
- Use Link+ to find and order books available at other California libraries. The books arrive at the Kennedy Library Circulation Desk within 3 days for you to check out.
If you don’t find the book you need in PolyCAT or LINK+, submit an interlibrary loan request.
For more information about locating books, read the "Finding Books" page.
Finding Primary Sources
What is a primary source?- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- Provides full text articles and images from the New York Times, 1851-2003, and the Los Angeles Times, 1881-1985. To access the text from more recent issues of these newspapers, search the ProQuest Newsstand database.
