Grants Writing and Process
Web sites and online tutorials
- Cal Poly Grants Development Office
- Includes links to many grant writing resources.
- Grant Proposal Writing: Guide to Books and Web Sites
- Good list of recommended books and web sites, from the University of Wisconsin Libraries.
- Proposal Writer's Guide (Donald Thackrey, University of Michigan)
- "This Guide is intended for faculty and staff members with little or no experience in writing proposals for sponsored activities."
- Proposal Development Process (University of Washington)
- Proposal Writing Short Course (Foundation Center)
- Writing Winning Proposals (ASME)
- Excellent modular tutorial from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Books (Selected Titles)
- Grant Writing in Higher Education: A Step-by-Step Guide. (Link+)
- Research Proposals: A Guide to Success, 3rd. ed.. Thomas Ogden and Israel Goldberg (Link+)
- Grant Proposal Makeover: Transform your request from no to yes. Kennedy Library, HV41.2 .C518 2007
- Proposals That Work: A Guide for Planning Dissertations and Grant Proposals, 5th Ed.. Lawrence Locke, Waneen Wyrick Spirduso, and Stephen Silverman (Link +)
- Proposal Writing in Education
- Proposal Writing in Research
- Research Grants
Grant-making organizations and alert services
- Academic Funding Newsletters and Current Awareness Services
- How to keep up to date: a list from the Michigan State University Libraries.
- Blog on grants and related resources
- Regularly updated, news items about grants, scholarships, proposal writing, and other topics compiled by Jon Harrison, Funding Center Supervisor, MSU Libraries.
- A searchable portal for information on over 1,000 federal government grant programs, from US AID to the EPA, USDA to SBA.
- International and foreign grant makers
- List of web sites and suggested books, from the Michigan State University Libraries.
- Non-Government Funding Opportunities by Subject
- Brought to you by Cal Poly's Grants Development Office.
- SPIN(Sponsored Programs Information Network)
- A searchable database of funding opportunities that provides email notification like SMARTS/GENIUS. You can access the database only from on-campus computers. Get started with the SPINPlus Tutorial.
- A grants portal site created by AAAS for scientists in training in the biological and medical sciences. First-time users must register before they can search the database.
- NASA research opportunities
- Opportunities from the EPA's National Center for Environmental Research
- NIH Grants Tutorials
- CRISP (database of Biomedical Research funded by NIH)
- Guide to effective grant writing : how to write an effective NIH grant application (book, Link+)
- Writing the NIH Grant Proposal: A Step-by-Step Guide. William Gerin (book, Link +)
- NIH Funding Opportunities and Notices
- NIH Receipt Dates / Deadlines
Humanities and Social Sciences
- Compilation of Grants in the Social Sciences
- List of web sites, databases, and books from the Michigan State University Libraries.
- US Department of Education
- Awards database
- Grantmaking at ED.
- Forecast of opportunities (includes deadlines)
- Humanities and Social Sciences Net Online
- Subscribe to receive announcement updates
- Includes list of grant programs and deadlines
For more information
Many professional and scholarly journals publish news and helpful articles about grants writing.
If you find yourself spending too long (more than an hour) or haven’t found anything useful, it may be time to consult a librarian!