Electrical Engineering
Finding Research Articles and Conference Papers
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
- This database includes only articles from the top 600 most heavily used journals in Engineering. Most of the articles come from journals published by the major American professional societies: ACM, IEEE, ASCE, ASME, SAE, etc. The one great advantage of using this database is that there are hyperlinks out to the electronic full text of the articles, when they are included in Cal Poly's subscriptions.
- Compendex (Engineering Village 2)
- Compendex is a vast database of over 10 million references to engineering articles, conference papers, and other resources. It covers all engineering topics and includes resources from around the world in many languages. There are no hyperlinks out to Cal Poly's full text journals, so you must search in PolyCat to see if Cal Poly has the items you turn up in the database.
- IEEE Xplore
- Covers all IEEE and IEE journals and conference papers. Cal Poly has electronic access to the journals, but not the conference papers which must be ordered through the Library's Interlibrary Loan service.
- Electrical & Electronic Abstracts
- Call Number: Reference. TK1.E28 (Per AI)
- This is the most comprehensive listing of EE literature. It covers all the journals, conference papers, and also patents and dissertations in electrical engineering. Use this search engine if you want to be sure you have found everything that has been published. Cal Poly subscribes to the monthly paper version. NOTE: A search of the online version of this search engine can be performed for you by Wayne Montgomery (wmontgom@calpoly.edu).
- Google Scholar
- A version of Google that is supposed to return only scholarly sources.
- OAIster
- This search engine searches for papers researchers have posted on their web sites.
- Scirus
- Scirus is the most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet.
Finding Books
- PolyCat
- This is Cal Poly Library's own database that lists what is available here at Cal Poly. It lists all our books, government documents, as well as over 50,000 senior projects and masters theses.
- LINK+
- This database brings together the catalogs of over 30 libraries in California. The main advantage of this database is the ability to place an order to have items in other libraries delivered to Cal Poly for your use.
- Melvyl
- This database lists over 12 million items contained in the libraries of the University of California system and the California State Library. Melvyl includes primarily books, but it lists many (but not all) publications from U.S. federal agencies (like the Defense Department, Energy Department and NASA). Any item you find in Melvyl that is not available at Cal Poly can be ordered through the Kennedy Library's Interlibrary Loan
- WorldCat
- This database is the largest of the book databases. It includes books plus videos, web resources, CD-ROMs, and many other kinds of documents. Again, most things you find listed in the database will have to be ordered through our Interlibrary Loan service.
Electric Power
- Search PolyCat with these subject headings:
- Electric power production
- Electric power distribution
- Electric power systems
- Electric power
- Electric networks
Radio and Wireless
- Search PolyCat with these words:
- Antennas
- Microwave communication systems
- Radio circuits
- Radio transmitters
- Radio receivers
- Wireless communication systems
