Curriculum & Instruction

Online Databases

Academic Search Elite
Indexes over 2,900 publications, including scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies,as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Full-text articles are provided for over 1,300 periodical titles.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Indexes over 1400 core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences as well as some popular publications, including the New York Times. About one-third of the indexed articles are available full-text online. Coverage from 1980 to the present.

Books

The differentiated classroom : responding to the needs of all learners
A solution for the dilemma faced by nearly all teachers: how to divide time, resources and efforts among students of diverse backgrounds and varying skill levels.
The parallel curriculum : a design to develop high potential and challenge high-ability learners
Offers four parallel approaches to curriculum development to ensure rich curriculum for all learners - those working at a basic level and those at the highest level of ability.
Elementary methods : an integrated curriculum
A curriculum based not on subject matter areas but on themes or problems requires a different type of organization and classroom pattern. The purpose of this text is to assist the elementary teacher in developing the skills needed for organizing and teaching within an integrated program and for assessing children's progress in ways appropriate to an integrated program.
PolyCat Search Heading Suggestions
Education--Curricula
Education, Elementary -- Curricula
Education, Secondary -- Curricula
Education -- Aims and objectives

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks for Curriculum and Instruction

Encyclopedia of Education
This multivolume set covers the field of education broadly, treating institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in language suitable for university students and general readers. Included are over 850 signed articles, written by over 900 contributors and varying in length from 500 to 5000 words. Each article ends with a generous bibliography of print and online sources for further research. The numerous access points include See also references, a comprehensive index, and an "Outline of Contents" that shows the conceptual framework of the entire encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Educational Research
Includes treatment of such topics as AIDS education, public choice, athletics in higher education, social factors in education, uses and abuses of testing, schooling of teenage parents, education of mobile populations, and women's education in the Third World.
Handbook of Research on Teaching
A resource for students and scholars, the revised and updated Handbook presents the robust field of research on teaching characterized by evolving research methodologies and strong, diverse conceptual frameworks. Ultimately, this research will inform practice-policy, school administration, teaching, instruction, and parenting. Above all, this educational research will speak to student learning and development in significant aspects of human life, including the cognitive, moral, physical, emotional, artistic, and social. This volume, with 51 chapters organized in eight sections, will guide educational practice and research in the 21st century.
International Encyclopedia of Education
Over 1,200 entries, structured alphabetically, organized thematically around the following 22 major educational themes. Adult Education. Anthropology. Comparative and International Education. Curriculum. Economics of Education. Educational Administration. Educational Evaluation. Educational Research, Methodology, and Measurement. Educational Technology. Girls and Women in Education. History and Historiography of Education. Human Development. Instructional Psychology. Philosophy of Education. Policy and Planning. Preschool Education. Sociology of Education. Special Needs Education. Systems of Education. Teaching. Teacher Education. Vocational Education and Training.
Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
This first-of-its-kind Encyclopedia charts the influence of philosophic ideas that have had the greatest influence on education from ancient Greece to the present. It covers such classical thinkers as Plato, Augustine, Hypatia, Locke, and Rousseau, as well as such recent figures as Montessori, Heidegger, Du Bois, and Dewey. It illuminates time-honored ideas and concepts such as idealism, practical wisdom, scholasticism, tragedy, and truth, as well as such modern construct as critical theory, existentialism, phenomenology, Marxism, and post-colonialism. The Encyclopedia also examines contributions from politics, religion, poetry, rhetoric, the social sciences, and other fields.
World Education Encyclopedia: A Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide (ONLINE)
This encyclopedia describes the national educational systems of most countries around the world.

Journals

PolyCat: Journal title search
Locate a particular journal using the "Journal title search" in PolyCat.
American Educational Research Journal (AERJ)
American Educational Research Journal (AERJ) has as its purpose to publish original empirical and theoretical studies and analyses in education. The editors seek to publish articles from a wide variety of academic disciplines and substantive fields.
American Journal of Education
Founded as School Review in 1893, AJE acquired its present name in November 1979. The Journal seeks to bridge and integrate the intellectual, methodological, and substantive diversity of educational scholarship, and to encourage a vigorous dialogue between educational scholars and practitioners. To achieve that goal, papers are published that present research, theoretical statements, philosophical arguments, critical syntheses of a field of educational inquiry, and integrations of educational scholarship, policy, and practice.
Education
Education publishes original investigations and theoretical papers dealing with worthwhile innovations in learning.
The Education Digest
The Education Digest seeks to provide original and secondary-source articles and ideas which teachers, administrators, and lay people across all levels of education and other fields can use to understand current education problems and issues better, get new insights on them, and help deal with them more successfully, whether their effort is for use in direct-contact situations with students or simply for their own personal knowledge and learning.
Educational Leadership
An authoritative source of information about teaching and learning, new ideas and practices relevant to practicing educators, and the latest trends and issues affecting prekindergarten through higher education.
Elementary School Journal
Founded in 1900, The Elementary School Journal is designed to serve both the researcher and the practitioner in elementary and middle school education. While exploring central problems in education theory, the Journal also explores the complex problems of the classroom. In addition, ESJ presents articles that relate the latest research in child development, cognitive psychology, sociology, and anthropology to school learning and teaching.
Harvard Educational Review
The Harvard Educational Review is a scholarly journal of opinion and research in education. Its mission is to provide an interdisciplinary forum for discussion and debate about education's most vital issues. Since its founding in 1930, the Review has become one of the most prestigious journals in education, with circulation to policymakers, researchers, administrators, and teachers.
Middle School Journal
Middle School Journal, a refereed journal, is an official publication of National Middle School Association. The Journal publishes articles that promote middle level education and contribute to an understanding of the educational and developmental needs of youth between the ages of 10 and 15.
Phi Delta Kappan
Phi Delta Kappan, the professional print journal for education, addresses policy issues for educators at all levels. Advocating research-based school reform, the Kappan provides a forum for debate on controversial subjects.
Contemporary Issues in Technology and Teacher Education (CITE)
Contemporary Issues in Technology and Teacher Education (CITE) is a publication of the Society for Information Technology and Teacher Education (SITE), established as an electronic counterpart of the Journal of Technology and Teacher Education.
Current Issues in Education
The mission of the journal is to advance scholarly thought by publishing articles promoting dialogue, research, practice, and policy as well as developing a community of scholarship.
EducatiON-line
Education-line is a freely accessible database of the full text of conference papers, working papers and electronic literature which supports educational research, policy and practice.
Harvard Educational Review Online
The Harvard Educational Review is a scholarly journal of opinion and research in education. Its mission is to provide an interdisciplinary forum for discussion and debate about education's most vital issues.
Studies in Educational Evaluation
Studies in Educational Evaluation publishes original reports of evaluation studies. Four types of articles are published by the journal: (a) empirical evaluation studies representing evaluation practice in educational systems around the world; (b) theoretical reflections and empirical studies related to issues involved in the evaluation of educational programs, educational institutions, educational personnel and student assessment; (c) articles summarizing the state-of-the-art concerning specific topics in evaluation in general or in a particular country or group of countries; (d) book reviews and brief abstracts of evaluation studies.