Civil & Environmental Engineering
Finding Articles
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
- This database includes only articles from the top 450 most heavily used journals in English. Most of the articles come from journals published by the major American professional societies: ACM, IEEE, ASCE, ASME, SAE, etc. The one great advantage of using this database is that there are hyperlinks out to the electronic full text of the articles, when they are included in Cal Poly's subscriptions.
- Engineering Village 2
- Engineering Village 2 is actually a portal providing access to five different information resources. When you drop into EV2 you are automatically set up in EI Compendex which is a vast database of over 10 million references to engineering articles, conference papers, and other resources. It covers all engineering topics and includes resources from around the world in many languages. There are no hyperlinks out to Cal Poly's full text journals, so you must search in PolyCat to see if Cal Poly has the items you turn up in the database.
Finding Books & Technical Reports
- PolyCat
- This is Cal Poly Library's own database which lists what is available here at Cal Poly. It lists all our books, government documents, as well as over 50,000 senior projects and masters theses.
- LINK+
- This database brings together the catalogs of over 30 libraries in California. The main advantage of this database is the ability to place an order to have items in other libraries delivered to Cal Poly for your use.
- Melvyl
- This database lists over 12 million items contained in the libraries of the University of California system and the California State Library. Melvyl includes primarily books, but it lists many (but, not all) publications from U.S. federal agencies (like the Federal Highway Administration, and Federal Emergency Management Agency) and California state agencies (like Cal TRANS). Any item you find in Melvyl that is not available at Cal Poly can be ordered through the Kennedy Library's Interlibrary Loan Department.
Steel Design
- Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain. 7th ed.
- Call Number: Reference. TA407.2 .R6 2002
- Roark, Raymond J., W. C. Young, and R. G. Budynas.
- New York: McGraw-Hill, 2002.
- Beam Formulas.
- Call Number: Reference. TA660.B4 G7
- Griffel, William.
- New York: Ungar, 1970.
- Manual of Steel Construction: Allowable Stress Design. 9th ed.
- Call Number: Reference. TA684.A5 1995
- American Institute of Steel Construction.
- Chicago, IL: American Institute of Steel Construction, 1995.
- Manual of Steel Construction: Load & Resistance Factor Design. 3rd ed.
- Call Number: Reference. TA684.M344 2001
- American Institute of Steel Construction.
- Chicago, IL: American Institute of Steel Construction, 2001.
Wood Design
- Timber Construction Manual. 4th ed.
- Call Number: Reference. TA666.T47 1994
- American Institute of Timber Construction.
- New York: Wiley, 1994.
- Wood Reference Handbook: A Guide to the Architectural Use of Wood in Building Construction.
- Call Number: Reference. TH1101.W66 1991
- Canadian Wood Council.
- Ottawa Ont., Canada: Canadian Wood Council, 1991.
Building Systems
- Handbook of Mechanical and Electrical Systems for Buildings.
- Call Number: MAIN. TH6010.H29
- Bovay Engineers, Inc.
- New York: McGraw-Hill, 1981.
- Handbook: Refrigeration Systems and Applications. Inch-Pound ed.
- Call Number:MAIN. TH7011.A445
- ASHRAE
- Atlanta, GA: American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers, 1986.
- HVAC Engineer's Handbook. 10th ed.
- Call Number: MAIN. TH7225.P584 1995
- Porges, F.
- Boston, MA: Butterworth-Heinemann, 1995.
- Handbook of Air Conditioning and Refrigeration. 2nd ed.
- Call Number: MAIN. TH7687.W27 2001
- Wang, Shan K.
- New York: McGraw-Hill, 2001.
Geotechnical Engineering
- Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering Handbook.
- Call Number: MAIN. TA654.6.D38 2002
- Day, Robert W.
- New York: McGraw-Hill, 2001.
- Earthquake Engineering Handbook.
- Call Number: MAIN. TA654.6.E374 2003
- Chen, Wai-Fah, and Charles Scawthorn.
- Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2003.
