Citing Images Chicago Style Examples
An image in an online database (AP Photo Archive)
- Caption Example

- Figure 1. Swan Lake in Golden Gate Park, San Franciso. Source: AP Photo Archive, copyright Eric Risberg, 1999.
- Bibliographic Citation Example
- Risberg, Eric, photographer. "Lake Boating." Photograph. 1999. From: AP Photo Archive (accessed October 15, 2007).
An image in an online database (Library of Congress American Memory Project)
- Caption Example

- Figure 2. Golden Gate Park, San Francisco (early twentieth century). Source: American Memory from the Library of Congress, photo by Joseph Collier.
- Bibliographic Citation Example
- Collier, Joseph, photographer. "[Golden Gate Park.]" Photograph. 1903-1906?. From Library of Congress: American Memory. http://photoswest.org/cgi-bin/imager?00130282+C-282 (accessed October 15, 2007)
An image from a website
- Caption Example

- Figure 3. Golden Gate Park Map, San Francisco. Note: Copyright Lee W. Nelson, 2001-2007.
- Bibliographic Citation Example
- Nelson, Lee W., artist. "Golden Gate Park." Map. 2001. From Lee Nelson iNeTours.com Internet Tours. http://www.inetours.com/Pages/SFLndmrkVws/GGP_Map.html (accessed October 15, 2007)
An image from a website (artist known, no title or date)
- Caption Example

- Figure 4. Golden Gate Park, San Francisco. Note: Copyright Liam Quinn (made available under a Creative Commons License)
- Bibliographic Citation Example
- Quinn, Liam, photographer. "[Golden Gate Park, San Francisco.]" Photograph. (n.d.) From Liam Quinn's Home Page. http://htmlhelp.com/~liam/California/SanFrancisco/GoldenGatePark/ (accessed October 15, 2007).
An image from a website (artist and date unknown)
- Caption Example

- Figure 5. The Conservatory of Flowers at Golden Gate Park, San Francisco. Source: SFTravel.com.
- Bibliographic Citation Example
- "Conservatory of Flowers — Golden Gate Park." Photograph. (n.d.) From SFTravel.com. http://www.sftravel.com/ggpark.html (accessed October 15, 2007)
An image from a book(give the image a caption, & cite the book in which the image appears)
- Caption Example

- Figure 6. Golden Gate Park. Source: Harnik, p. 17 (2000).
- Bibliographic Citation Example
- Harnik, Peter. Inside city parks. Washington, DC: Urban Land Institute, 2000.
An image from a journal article (give the image a caption, & cite the article in which the image appears)
- Caption Example

- Figure 7. Site plan of the De Young Museum, in San Francisco's Golden Gate Park, showing formal gardens (scale approx 1:2500). Source: Gregory, p. 41.
- Bibliographic Citation Example
- Gregory, Rob. "Full metal jacket: the de Young Museum may appear tough and impenetrable, but in reality exploring its interiors is a delight; just like a wall in the park." The Architectural Review, 218, no.1304 (2005): 46-61.
