- Search PolyCat with the following subjects
- Bilingual Education -- United States
- Second Language Acquisition
- English Language Study And Teaching Foreign Speakers
Bilingual Education books
- Bilingual and ESL classrooms : teaching in multicultural contexts
- The text integrates the fields of ESL, bilingual, and multicultural education and provides rich examples of effective practices and their underlying research knowledge base.
- Effective programs for Latino students
- The purpose of this book is to present the current state of research on effective instructional programs for Latino students in elementary and secondary grades.
- Literacy and bilingualism: a handbook for all teachers
- Discusses the needs of second language learners, the role of the parents, early childhood programs among many other topics.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks for Bilingual Education
- Bilingual education and English as a second language : a research handbook, 1988-1990
- Beginning with research completed in 1988, this volume reflects the latest currents and recent directions of work in the field. Essays cover such topics as social and academic contexts, education of the gifted, institutionalization of teacher training programs, assessment, and literacy. Annotated bibliographies covering the most important published books and articles follow each essay.
- Encyclopedia of bilingualism and bilingual education
- The encyclopedia is broken into four sections discussing individual bilingualism, languages in society, languages in contact in the world, and bilingual education. Each section offers numerous textboxes, photographs, and graphics. Cross-referencing allows the reader to access other information in the encyclopedia, while "Further Reading" sections at the end of each topic and a bibliography at the end of the encyclopedia lead the reader to information elsewhere.
- Second language students in mainstream classrooms [computer file] : a handbook for teachers in international schools
- This handbook is designed as an aid to teachers of mainstream classes in the elementary sections of English-medium international schools. Teachers of these classes are faced on a daily basis with managing the education of children from diverse language and cultural backgrounds. Most international schools contain a majority group of students from one of the English-speaking countries of the world; however, it is the presence of the second language children that gives such schools their unique flavor. It is also the presence of these students that offers a major challenge to classroom teachers.
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles and Conference Papers
- Academic Search Elite
- Indexes over 2,900 publications, including scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies,as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Full-text articles are provided for over 1,300 periodical titles. Search with the following subject headings:
- bilingual education
- second language learning
- dual language
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- Indexes over 1400 core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences as well as some popular publications, including the New York Times. About one-third of the indexed articles are available full-text online. Coverage from 1980 to the present.
- The Bilingual Review
- The Bilingual Review features quality articles in the areas of bilingualism, bilingual education, and ethnic scholarship, as well as the best creative literature by established and emerging Hispanic writers. You will also find book reviews, publication notices, and a section of professional announcements of upcoming events.
- Bilingual Research Journal
- Articles are written by scholars and practitioners in a wide range of areas: language assessment, policy analysis, instructional research, language politics, all forms of bilingual education, bilingualism and biliteracy, language planning, critical theory as applied to language issues, action research, sociolinguistics, second language teaching and learning, etc.
Websites containing bibliographies on Bilingual Education
- Annotated Bibliography on Successful Bilingual Education from Brown University
- Books and articles about Bilingual programs that are successful.
- Issues in Bilingual Education
- Discusses the various issues and controversies surrounding U.S. language policies. Includes references.
- Bibliography from Fair Test
- The National Center for Fair & Open Testing (FairTest) works to end the misuses and flaws of standardized testing and to ensure that evaluation of students, teachers and schools is fair, open, valid and educationally beneficial.
- National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition & Language Instruction Educational Programs
- Here you will find information, articles and web resources about important topics in the education of English language learners.
- Second-language Reading and Biliteracy Instruction Bibliography
- Bibliography from Jill Mora, a second language researcher at San Diego State