Written by on March 4, 2009

LA Times Book Prize Nominees Announced

bookprizeslogo.gifThe LA Times announced  the nominees for its annual prizes on Monday. Robert Alter, known for his work on the Bible as literature, was also named winner of this year’s Kirsch Award, the only non-competitive prize of the group. Here are the others:

H.W. Brands: A Traitor to His Class: The Privileged Life and Radical Presidency of Franklin Delano Roosevelt
Ernest Freeburg: Democracy’s Prisoner: Eugene V. Debs, the Great War, and the Right to Dissent
Paula J. Giddings: Ida: a Sword among Lions: Ida B. Wells and the Campaign against Lynching
Jon Meacham: American Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White House
Jackie Willschlager: Chagall: a Biography

Current Interest
Steve Coll: The Bin Ladens: an Arabian Family in the American Century
Dexter Filkins: The Forever War
Barton Gellman: Angler: the Cheney Vice Presidency
Jane Mayer: The Dark Side: the Inside Story of of How the War on Terror Turned into a War on American Ideals
Jill Bolte Taylor: My Stroke of Insight: a Brain Scientist’s Personal Journey

Sebastian Barry: The Secret Scripture
Richard Price: Lush Life
Marilynne Robinson: Home
Joan Silber: The Size of the World
Marisa Silver: The God of War

Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction
Uwem Akpan: Say You’re One of Them
Zoe Ferraris: Finding Nouf
Sadie Jones: The Outcast
Rome Tearne: Mosquito
David Wroblewski: The Story of Edgar Sawtelle (here’s my review from September of last year)

Michael Dobbs: One Minute to Midnight: Kennedy, Khrushchev and Castro on the Brink of Nuclear War
Drew Gilpin Faust: This Republic of Suffering: Death and the American Civil War
Mark Mazower: Hitler’s Empire: How the Nazis Ruled Europe
Thomas J. Sugrue: Sweet Land of Liberty: the Forgotten Struggle or Civil Rights in the North
Rick Wartzman: Obscene in the Extreme: the Burning and Banning of John Steinbeck’s The Grapes of Wrath

Colin Harrison: The Finder
Michael Koryta: Envy the Night
Simon Lewis: Bad Traffic: an Inspector Jian Novel
Nina Reboyr: The Age of Dreaming
Tom Rob Smith: Child 44

Frank Bidart: Watching the Spring Festival: Poems
Jorie Graham: Sea Change: Poems
Marie Howe: The Kingdom of Ordinary Time: Poems
Cole Swensen: Ours
Connie Voisine: Rare High Meadow of Which I might Dream

Science & Technology
Avery Gilbert: What the Nose Knows: the Science of Scent in Everyday Life
Kenneth R. Miller: Only a Theory: Evolution and the Battle for America’s Soul
Martin J. S. Rudwick: Worlds before Adam: the Reconstruction of Geohistory in the Age of Reform
Leonard Susskind: The Black Hole War: My Battle with Stephen Hawking to Make the World Safe for Quantum Mechanics
Karl Zimmer: Microcosm: E. coli and the New Science of Life

Young Adult Literature
Candace Fleming: The Lincolns: a Scrapbook Look at Abraham and Mary
Neil Gaiman: The Graveyard Book
Oscar Hijuelos: Dark Dude
Nate Powell: Swallow Me Whole
Terry Pratchett: Nation

The winners will be named at a ceremony on Friday, April 24, the eve of the LA Times Festival of Books.

Read more on prizes and awards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.