List of Most Useful Databases

General Databases

General Databases (Something on nearly everything!)

Academic Search Elite
Expanded Academic Index

News Sources

Proquest Newsstand (National and International Major Newspapers)
Proquest Historical Newspapers (Historic NY Times & Historic LA Times)
California Newspapers (For SLO, select "Tribune" on list of CA papers)
LexisNexis (National and International; also, radio and tv transcripts)

Controversial Topics

CQ Researcher
Opposing Viewpoints

Information about Countries

EuropaWorld Plus
US Department of State Background Notes

Images

AP Images
ArtStor

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Reference

Oxford English Dictionary
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Subject Databases

Subject Databases

Agriculture

Agricola

Art and Architecture

Art and Architecture Complete
Avery Index

Biology

Web of Knowledge Web of Science, BIOSIS, MEDLINE, Zoological Record and more)

Business

ABI/INFORM
First Research
Hoover's Online

Chemistry

Reaxys

Education

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)

Engineering

Engineering Village

Health and Medicine

PubMed

Humanities

Project Muse
JSTOR
Helpful tip: click box by articles when you search or you'll get swamped by reviews and editorials.

Journalism, Communication and Media

Communications and Mass Media Complete
ABI/INFORM

Mathematics and Statistics

MathSciNet

Nutrition

PubMed

Physics

Web of KnowledgeWeb of Science, Inspec and more)
arXiv

Psychology

PsycINFO

Recreation and Sports

SPORTDiscus
Hospitality and Tourism Complete

Science

Academic Search Elite
Expanded Academic ASAP
Web of Science (includes Web of Science, BIOSIS, MEDLINE, Zoological Record, Inspec and more)

Social Sciences

Project Muse
JSTOR
Web of Knowledge